|||

Changing Engines & Changing Projects

Here’s my first, finished video devlog. I can’t look at it. The video quality is just too bad, but I pushed through. My perfectionism gets in the way of many things, even self-improvement, or perhaps especially self-improvement. I’ve realised that the only way that I get better at things like video making is by making lots of bad videos first, so here we are.

But moving onto more important things!

Yes. Unity. At the point of writing, Unity has decided to somewhat rollback the Runtime Fee changes, but I honestly can’t trust the company anymore. The thing just isn’t set up in a way where its goals align with those of game developers - such is the nature of a publicly traded company.

The next day after they made their first announcement, I decided that I’m not going to keep using Unity. I love Naninovel, but I just get way too stressed worrying about what kind of crazy shenanigans Unity is going to try to pull in the future, and it just happens that what I’ve been making isn’t something that’s all that welded into the Unity ecosystem. What I’ve been writing is a script essentially (40k - 50k words, but still just a script.)

In the video, I mention that I don’t want to go back to Ren’Py since I don’t want to only make visual novels, and while that’s still true, I may still port Head In The Stars back to Ren’Py in the future.

For now, I’m choosing to start working on a different project, a point-and-click adventure mystery game in Unreal using the Point-And-Click Adventure Toolkit called Salt-Bitten.

The girl I’m designing in the video is the main character. She is… a mermaid? The story is still evolving at present. I’ve been drawing more characters so those should be showing up in future dev diary videos.

To be honest, I’m still unsettled about changing projects. It’s that uncomfortable feeling like something hasn’t been finished, which, of course, it hasn’t. As of writing, I’ve more or less finished cleaning up all my notes for Head In The Stars, so now all I need to do on that project is to figure out what engine to use for it.

Up next 04 - Huzzah for Naninovel 06 - back to Ren'Py & Concept Art I ended up not doing what I said and ported everything back to Ren'Py
Latest posts The Undead 6 The Undead 5 The Undead 4 The Undead 3 The Undead 2 The Undead 1 The Undead (fan translation) 06 - back to Ren'Py & Concept Art 05 - Changing Engines & Changing Projects 04 - Huzzah for Naninovel Urasawa Naoki - The Lies Mangaka Tell Xian Xie Fate Is... Fate Is 3 Fate Is 2 Masahiro Sakurai - Broad Input, Broad Output A Collection of Inkle Wisdom Inkle and UX 03 - Learning to Move 02 - An Adventure From Ren'Py to Naninovel 01 - Engine Woes Head In The Stars